The Suffering Tree

Title: The Suffering Tree Author: Elle Cosimano Genre: Young Adult Fiction Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Release Date: June 13, 2017 Pages: 368 “It’s dark magic brings him back.” Tori Burns and her family left D.C. for claustrophobic Chaptico, Maryland, after suddenly inheriting a house under mysterious circumstances. That inheritance puts her at odds with the entire town, especially Jesse Slaughter and his family-it’s their generations-old land the Burns have “stolen.” As the suspicious looks and muttered accusations of her neighbors build, so […]

Death Need Not Be Fatal

Title: Death Need Not Be Fatal Author: Malachy McCourt, Brian McDonald Genre: Biography & Autobiography Publisher: Center Street Release Date: May 16, 2017 Pages: 272 Before he runs out of time, Irish bon vivant MALACHY MCCOURT shares his views on death – sometimes hilarious and often poignant – and on what will or won’t happen after his last breath is drawn. During the course of his life, Malachy McCourt practically invented the single’s bar; was a pioneer in talk radio, […]

Grendel’s Guide to Love and War

Title: Grendel's Guide to Love and War Author: A. E. Kaplan Genre: Young Adult Fiction Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers Release Date: April 18, 2017 Pages: 320 The Perks of Being a Wallflower meets Revenge of the Nerds in this tale of a teen misfit who seeks to take down the bro next door, but ends up falling for his enemy’s sister and uncovering difficult truths about his family in the process. Tom Grendel lives a quiet life–writing in […]

All the Forever Things

Title: All the Forever Things Author: Jolene Perry Genre: Young Adult Fiction Publisher: Albert Whitman and Company Release Date: April 1, 2017 Pages: 288 From growing up in the funeral home her family runs, Gabriella knows that death is a part of life and nothing is forever. Yet Bree, her best friend, has been a constant; it’s always been the two of them together against the world. But when Bree starts dating a guy—the worst guy— from that ultra-popular world, […]

Always

Title: Always Author: Sarah Jio Genre: Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Books Release Date: February 7, 2017 Pages: 288 A gripping novel about the kind of love that never lets go, and the heart’s capacity to remember, from the New York Times bestselling author of Blackberry Winter and The Violetes of March Enjoying a romantic candlelit dinner with her fianc�, Ryan, at one of Seattle’s chicest restaurants, Kailey Crain can’t believe her good fortune: She has a great job as a journalist […]

Garden of Thorns

Title: GARDEN OF THORNS Author: Amber Mitchell Genre: Young Adult Fiction Publisher: Entangled Publishing Release Date: February 27, 2017 Pages: 370 After seven grueling years of captivity in the Garden–a burlesque troupe of slave girls–sixteen-year-old Rose finds an opportunity to escape during a performance for the emperor. But the hostage she randomly chose from the crowd to aid her isn’t one of the emperor’s men–not anymore. He’s the former heir to the throne, who is now leading a rebellion against […]

Maid of the King’s Court

Title: Maid of the King's Court Author: Lucy Worsley Genre: Young Adult Fiction Publisher: Candlewick Press Release Date: March 14, 2017 Pages: 368 In the vibrant, volatile court of Henry VIII, can even the most willful young woman direct her own fate and follow her heart in a world ruled by powerful men? Clever, headstrong Elizabeth Rose Camperdowne knows her duty. As the sole heiress to an old but impoverished noble family, Eliza must marry a man of wealth and […]

True North (True Born, Book 2)

Title: True North Series: True Born, Book 2 Author: L.E. Sterling Genre: Juvenile Fiction Publisher: Entangled: Teen Release Date: April 4, 2017 Format: Hardcover Pages: 400 Abandoned by her family in Plague-ridden Dominion City, eighteen-year-old Lucy Fox has no choice but to rely upon the kindness of the True Borns, a renegade group of genetically enhanced humans, to save her twin sister, Margot. But Nolan Storm, their mysterious leader, has his own agenda. When Storm backtracks on his promise to […]

Duels & Deception

Title: Duels & Deception Author: Cindy Anstey Genre: Young Adult Fiction Publisher: Macmillan Release Date: April 11, 2017 Pages: 368 In 1800s London, a young heiress and her lawyer are caught up in a kidnapping plot to steal her fortune, but as their investigation delves deeper and their affections for each other grow, Lydia starts to wonder what she truly wants.   Review: I feel like I am the wrong person to review “Duels & Deception.”  It definitely seems like […]

Gilded Cage (Dark Gifts, Book 1)

Title: Gilded Cage Series: Dark Gifts, Book 1 Author: Vic James Publisher: Del Rey Books Release Date: February 14, 2017 Pages: 368 For readers of Victoria Aveyard and Kiera Cass comes a darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England where magically gifted aristocrats rule–and commoners are doomed to serve. NOT ALL ARE FREE. NOT ALL ARE EQUAL. NOT ALL WILL BE SAVED. Our world belongs to the Equals–aristocrats with magical gifts–and all commoners must serve them for ten years. […]