Wildlife

Wildlife Book Cover Wildlife
Fiona Wood
Juvenile Fiction
Poppy
2014-09-16
400

During a semester in the wilderness, sixteen-year-old Sib expects the tough outdoor education program and the horrors of dorm life, but friendship drama and an unexpected romance with popular Ben Capaldi? That will take some navigating. New girl Lou has zero interest in fitting in, or joining in. Still reeling from a loss that occurred almost a year ago, she just wants to be left alone. But as she witnesses a betrayal unfolding around Sib and her best friend Holly, Lou can't help but be drawn back into the land of the living. Fans of Melina Marchetta, Rainbow Rowell, and E. Lockhart will adore this endearing and poignant story of first love, true friendship, and going a little bit wild.

 

Review:

This review is based on a complimentary copy given through Netgalley by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers in exchange for an honest review.

“Wildlife” by Fiona Wood is a book about two vastly different girls coming together during a semester in a wilderness type camp required by their school.  It’s set in Australia, and while the differences are strange at first, I thought it was fun to learn more about the life of teenagers there.

The book is absolutely beautifully written, and takes many twists and turns that I did not expect at all.  The two main characters, along with a secondary character (Michael), were so well-developed that your heart breaks when theirs do, and you laugh when they laugh.  The mood is up and down with the story, ranging from sad to embarrassing to hilarious, and it makes the whole thing realistic.

Speaking of realistic, there is a LOT of strong language and talk of sex in “Wildlife”.  It fits with the story, and I love when authors are brave enough to write how real teenagers speak, but I did want to mention it in case anyone likes to avoid those types of things.

The only reason I gave “Wildlife” four stars instead of five is because the ending felt somewhat rushed.  It was a natural conclusion, but felt like it needed a couple of more chapters to make it seem less jarring.  It was a bit like being on a pleasant drive and then slamming on the brakes.  However, it is not anywhere near enough to ruin a wonderful book.

I highly recommend “Wildlife”.

 

Content Warning:

Language, Sexual Situations, Underage Drinking, Drug Use, Animal Death

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *